Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Bento Insanity? September 27, 2007

I recently mentioned my new obsession with bento and bento boxes to some people and frankly they think I am out of my mind. But I know all you “bento purists” out there understand how this gets started. (I do need to post some pics of my bento boxes that I recently purchased. No, I didn’t even make 1 bento yet.)

Exciting news! My brother and his wife recently found me the coveted Lock & Lock bento set! It’s the set that has a blue bag and it contains 2 containers (1 divided and the other not) and a water bottle. They were able to get 2 of those so I’ll probably keep 1 and put one up on ebay and sell that. They also picked me up an orange Lock & Lock bento set that is a little smaller than the blue one. I don’t remember what they said was in there but I think it is basically the same as the blue one. I’ll post some pictures after I receive them. At the same store, they picked up 2 more Lock & Lock containers with divided sections. I am so excited because I have read  (esp. on Lunch in a Box) great things about this Lock & Lock stuff but haven’t ever seen them here. I know you can get Lock & Lock on-line, esp. on QVC but I think those are made in China. I read that the ones made in Korea have an embossed logo on the container itself.

That’s not the end of it…they called today to let me know that they found a Zojirushi “bento box” set. It’s really not a box. It has round containers that stack. It comes with a green bag with leaves on it. They found it for approx. $34.00. I checked on ebay and I think it is going for approx. $43.00. I think I got a deal!

So, just how “insane” am I about this bento stuff? Well, for the past few weeks I’ve spent almost every free moment on the computer reading bento blogs or searching for bento supplies. Hmmm….that sounds a little extreme doesn’t it? I mean considering that I should be cleaning the house for an upcoming dinner that we’re hosting. Or I should be making the numerous handmade greeting cards (birthdays and thank yous) that I need to  complete. Not to mention catching up on scrapbooks (yes, more than 1) of my daughter.

BTW, I finally thought of an on-line name for my husband since I probably shouldn’t keep referring to him as “the husband” or “my husband”. So, I’ll call him Mr. Mad. NO, not to say that he’s mad…that’s far from the truth but I’ll use the word “mad” to refer to him as the “middle-aged dad” that he is. Hee hee hee…kind of cute? I’m still pondering a name for my daughter since I’d like to find one that suits her to a T. As for the bun in the oven, yes I am pregnant, I guess I’ll call  her “baby” since I am not 100% certain that she is a girl. Supposedly, the ultrasounds show she is a girl because they don’t see “anything” down there but I’ve heard numerous stories where they think it’s a girl and it turns out to be a boy. Only time will tell!

 

6 Responses to “Bento Insanity?”

  1. I just read your blog-congrads. on your new baby! I can relate with you, there is just not enough hours in the day. If only we did not have to sleep. I have five children – four boys and a new baby girl. We have a great time. My husband is also a middle aged dad but I just can’t seem to let on about my own age. I am just not ready to accept it! They say that a sign of getting older is seeing the time fly. Oh, no! I look at it as just getting better and better every day, yeah thats what it is. We just celebrated my little girl’s first birthday and I should be working on the handmade thank you cards while she is sleeping but I wanted to try this blogging thing, I think it is going to be fun!!

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hi cropandscrapdesigner (fellow scrapper and mother),

    Thanks for sharing a comment! Thank you also for
    the congratulations! I think you deserve some KUDOS for being a mother of 5 children…whew! Are you a SAHM? I know what you mean about the age thing…I try to convince myself that I feel younger than I am although my hair (the white hair) betrays me! I do believe we get “better” with age, although “better” is relative for me. I think I’m getting better at being tolerant and patient…most of the time. Congratulations on your daughter turning one! What a milestone! This blogging thing is enjoyable just for
    the “venting” part. I hope you can pull yourself away from your computer to get those cards done. I know I really have to get my cards done soon!
    p.s. I’m going to add a link to your page if you don’t mind.

  3. Good to hear from you. Yes, I am a stay at home mom, Yeah!! I am loving every minute of it and I know my children are blessed by it also. Prior to my last pegnancy I was a Director for one of the largest child development centers in our area; working 60 or more hours a week. I love children but my own need me more. I have started scrapping for others with an online store and an ebay store and recently started to add scrapbook supplies. What a great way to have fun and to share my craft with others. My children help me with ideas all the time. It is great. Those cards however are only on the edge of being completed, but I promised myself I’d be finished by Sunday evening. Yes, please add a link to my page. I think that is awesome!

  4. middleagedmom Says:

    Wow! I can’t believe that you were working more than 60 hours a week with 4 children. You are incredible!
    I’m sure your children enjoy having you around now that you’re home with them. Your online business is incredible. I’ve made a few scrapbooks for friends and I know how much work it is. People have suggested that I start my own scrapbooking business too. I’ve just started making my thank you cards. I’ll post a picture when I’m done. I hope you get your cards done also. Have a great week!

  5. Hi! Just wanted to let you know I viewed your blog today and saw that you put a link to my website; how cool is that?! Thank you. That is truly a compliment. I am still looking for a post on some of your cards. I can’t wait to see them. You really should try starting a scrapbook business, let me know if I can help. Have a blessed weekend.

  6. middleagedmom Says:

    I just uploaded some pics of the thank you card
    that I finished for Princess’s birthday. I don’t really know how to get the pictures any clearer.
    Hmm… Thanks for the encouragement abut starting
    a scrapbooking business. God bless you!


Leave a Reply

