Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Full of Food October 3, 2007

Filed under: baby,children,family,food,moms,pregnancy — middleagedmom @ 9:34 pm

The Great Mofo Delurk 2007

I was just reading citymama’s blog about the decrease in comments on people’s blogs. I have to admit I am one of those people who read but don’t always…actually seldom comments. So today I posted my 3rd comment since I started reading blogs. Is that sad or what? I really enjoy reading the blogs but I haven’t really made time to comment. So to encourage all of you out there who read but don’t comment, I’ve added the pink button above to encourage you to comment. You can click on the button to visit the blog of the originator of the idea. (It doesn’t matter when the official date is…just do it!)Yes, I’d like to hear from you too ! So get out there and do some commenting!

On a different note, we had such a busy few days that I have neglected to post. I must say that these past few days have been “full of food.” One day we had a delicious Japanese buffet lunch with the grandparents.The next day we hosted a dinner at our house. Although I didn’t cook (we picked up some yummy Chinese food), I did do a lot of cleaning and tidying up. I did manage to make “blueberry cheesecake” for dessert. blueberry cheesecakeblueberry cheesecakeThis cheesecake is made in a 9X13 inch pan so maybe it isn’t an official cheesecake.blueberry cheesecake

The next day I decided to bake some apple crisp (to give away)  apple crisp1

and a banana roll. The banana roll is similar to a pumpkin roll except you use bananas instead of pumpkin. I found the recipe online since I had to use up some very ripe bananas and didn’t really want to make banana bread. banana roll

(I’ve included some pictures here…finally!)

Needless to say, I was full of food from all of that eating and today was my doctor appointment with the dreaded weigh in. I was wishing that I had maybe not eaten so much food, esp. desserts over these past few days. Thank God I gained about 3 pounds since my last visit a month ago! My doctor suggested that I only gain 1/2 to 1 pound a week so I was within my limit. Supposedly, the recommended amount of weight gain during pregnancy is less than in previous years since there has been an increase in the incidence of hypertension and diabetes in pregnancy. That goes for all women, even thin women. Of course I am not included in the “thin” women category! During my last pregnancy, I gained approximately 25 pounds so I’m trying to stay within that range for this pregnancy. I was able to lose all my pregnancy weight and more because of breastfeeding. ( I enjoyed buying some new clothes, including new jeans!) I sure hope that holds true for this 2nd pregnancy. Although, I hear it is harder to lose weight in subsequent pregnancies. Yikes!

 

Leave a Reply

