Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Sick Days October 17, 2007

Filed under: baby,children,family,moms,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 8:08 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m back…

Princess and I have been bit by the sick bug! Yucky! The worst part is that it wasn’t the same bug…well, I’m not a doctor so I don’t know but we didn’t have the same symptoms. This weekend Princess woke up with a runny nose, congestion, and a slight fever. This is all very unusual for Princess since she has maybe gotten sick twice since birth. And when I say sick, I mean just a runny nose and very slight congestion with a slight fever lasting only a few days. At the 2 year doctor visit, the nurse commented on how healthy Princess was. ( I guess so since I read that most toddlers get sick something like 8-10 times per year on average.)

As for me, I caught some kind of stomach bug. Ugh! I had some stomach pains like spasms. I felt so yucky and couldn’t really eat anything.  It only lasted about 2 days so it wasn’t too bad. The worst part was that Mr. MaD decided to take us out for a belated birthday dinner and of course it wasn’t as enjoyable as we had hoped. I felt sick afterward and was regretting what I chose to eat.  Princess was fidgety and fussy after sitting for about 30 minutes.

It’s been 5 days since seeing the first symptoms in Princess. She actually seemed better on Monday so I took her to the bookstore in the morning.  Then Tuesday rolls around and I notice that she has developed a cough. It’s what you call a “wet” cough. You can hear the mucous in there. (TMI=Too much information?) She hasn’t been coughing continuously but when she does it sound pretty congested. I read online and in some books that coughing is good since it helps get rid of the mucous. The hardest part is hearing her cough during the night. Princess sleeps with the air conditioner because we live in a noisy area and it is still pretty warm out. I’ve heard mixed reviews about using humidifiers or vaporizers. I don’t want to try any cough/cold medicines. Any suggestions out there? I did read that for the most part it goes away on it’s own. I haven’t taken her to the doctor since she doesn’t have a fever and her breathing isn’t labored. (The books I read are Toddler 411 by Denise Fields and Ari Brown, M.D. and Caring for Your Baby and Young Child Birth to Age 5 by The American Academy of Pediatrics.)

Another dilemma I have is going to work. Now that I’ve accepted this part-time job I feel obligated to go in to the office on my scheduled days since it is so infrequent. Not to mention that things are not moving since I’m not there in the office. I am able to do work at home but some things can only be done at the office and since we are so behind on this project I feel worse about possibly staying home with Princess.  Another thing is that my mother (who is supposed to babysit tomorrow), is supposed to stay away from sick people because she is very susceptible to illness due to her RA medications. Whew…going back to work has so many complications!

As a mother, I feel so HELPLESS! You hear and see your child suffering and you can’t do anything.  Okay, maybe doing nothing is an exaggeration but you know what I mean. I did the saline nasal spray thing which she HATES! Still I do it! At this young age, they can’t tell you what’s bothering them or where it hurts. They can’t really blow their nose either! What is a mother to do? Pray, of course! At this point, it’s my only recourse.  I’m sad for her.   😦

 

Leave a Reply

