Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Clutter, Clutter Everywhere October 18, 2007

Filed under: baby,children,dad,family,moms,pregnancy,scrapbooking,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 8:25 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m so frustrated! I’m sure I’m not the only person out there who has 1 room in there home that is a clutter haven. My computer/scrapbooking room is so cluttered that there is a path to walk through the room. Don’t get me wrong…it is NOT a big room. It is less than 10 feet by 10 feet. (We live in an older home so the bedrooms are tiny in comparison to newer homes.)

Contents of my clutter haven: 2 computer desks (1 computer is not even being used), 2 file cabinets (2 drawers each), 1 scrapbooking table, 1 cabinet, 1 bookshelf, 1 Iris brand set of drawers on wheels, 1 very small dining room table with chair (used for scrapbooking), and 2 office chairs. Gosh, just naming those things makes me feel cluttered! Oh, 1 more small TV stand that sits under my scrapbooking table. Oops, my daugther’s plastic water table too.

Yes, I know I have to clean out and purge things. I’m actually usually good about purging at least once a year and donating things to charity or dumping things if not. For some reason this room seems to always be last on the list of purging. I did ask Mr. MaD if we could get rid of the small TV stand (it’s from Ikea). His reply, “We should keep it just in case we build an addition to our home and then we can use it for another TV room.” Hmmm…I wonder how many more years that’ll be? Especially, since I’m a SAHM who only works part part time. When I finally do receive a paycheck, it’ll probably just pay for more diapers.

Another thing that adds to the clutter is all of my work stuff. Since being on leave from work for the past 2-3 years, I had to clean out my office and bring home all materials pertaining to my job.  I have cleaned out some of that stuff but since I may have to go back to work next year I have held on to a lot of stuff. So I have a couple of containers full of stuff stored in closets and in the dining room. Also, since I’m working part time from home on some days, I do need some things at home to do my job.

Oh and did I mention that my home only has 3 bedrooms? One of which is the clutter haven. So what to do since I’m expecting another child very soon? Well, the 2 little ones will have to share a room for a while.

Hopefully, revealing my “dirty laundry” will encourage me to get organized and start decluttering this space. I’m dreaming of coming into this room and feeling excited that everything has a place. I’m dreaming of a room with a space for my daugther to play when we’re in this room together.

(I’m actually dreaming of someday having my own scrapbooking room! If you’re a scrapbooker, you know what I mean. You always have multiple works in progress sitting on your scrapbook table.)

 P.S. Am I writing this post because of the nesting instinct? That wouldn’t be a bad motivator!

 

4 Responses to “Clutter, Clutter Everywhere”

  1. Emily Says:

    I totally feel your pain…after the birth of our second child I now have a scrapbooking closet.

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hi Emily,

    Thanks for commenting! You must be extremely neat and organized to be able to use a scrapbooking closet! I’m sure you’re dreaming of a scrapbook room too! Gosh, maybe that’s a sign of things to come…I may only have a scrapbook closet too. That’ll really take some purging then.

  3. Yvette Says:

    Hey there, I can fully feel your frustration. I hope you appreciate these suggestions – organising is one of my things, but so is scrapbooking, collecting and living with small rooms!

    Firstly, turn around your perspective. You are thinking of these furniture items as what they are, not what you do with them. Unlike things of beauty, these functional items are only there because they have a purpose. (DH: if there is a world shortage of Ikea tv tables in the future when you need another one, you will just have to improvise! In the meantime, move it out of the space and into the home of somebody who needs it now. Donate.)

    Make a list of the purpose of this room. Scrapping space. Home office. Storage room. Big ask for a small space, but we need to work with what we have today, not what we might have one day.

    Make a list of all the tasks that need to be done in this room and then a list of the tools you need to do them. Anything that does not work or is not used has no right to your precious space. Get it out of there! 2 computer desks and your scrapping table? Can you consolidate that horizontal space? Do you need to seat three people at once, or could one office chair move around as needed?

    Think vertical for storage! Blank walls have no business in an overcrowded work space. Shelves, hanging storage etc will help you to get stuff off the floor, which gives you room to move. The floor is never, ever a permanent storage area. It is unsafe, especially in a home with pregnant women and small children.

    That is more than enough for now! But ideas on organizing are out there on the internet. So is the support to put them in action 🙂

  4. middleagedmom Says:

    Thank you SO much for your suggestions and your words of encouragement! I will take them to heart and start 1 thing at a time so I don’t get discouraged. Each time I come in here (every day) I feel like I need to clean it up. I appreciate you taking the time to offer support! I will keep you posted on my progress.


Leave a Reply

