Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Update – glucose test bummer November 7, 2007

I got the results of my glucose test….bummer! I didn’t pass. Apparently, the reference range is 79-139 and my number came back as 144. Ugh! Now I have to take the 3 hour glucose test. For that test you have to fast for 12 hours then you take a blood test first thing. Then you drink 2 bottles of that very very sweet drink. Then you take, if I’m not mistaken, 3 more blood tests at each hour. Believe me, I am NOT looking forward to this. When I was pregnant with Princess, I also failed the first 1 hour glucose test. My number was 148 but when I took the 3 hour test I passed. So I’m hoping that’s what happens this time.

I’ve been eating so much “junk” since we’ve been so busy with parties, etc. We just went to a Harvest Fest at my cousin’s church this weekend. I also attended a baby shower and ate ice cream and a cupcake. This weekend we are planning to go to another Fun Fair and I’m going to a baby shower that my friends are hosting for me (my friends are so nice).

In preparation, I have decided (as was suggested to me) to cut out/down most of my sugar intake and my carbs. Not entirely, but I’m resisting chocolate cake, cookie, and candies. Oh…and juice. So, besides water, my drinks are now diet soda and crystal light. Yes, I am having sugar withdrawls! So hopefully in the next two weeks I’ll get my glucose levels in order so that when I take my 3 hour test I will pass.

On a more pleasant note, I sold 1 blue Lock & Lock bento set. I do have 1 more left. I also have an orange Lock & Lock bento set if anyone is interested. If no one emails me with interest, I will put it up on ebay.

 

Leave a Reply

