Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Toddler Spelling Games November 9, 2007

Filed under: children,dad,family,food,moms,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 6:24 pm
Tags: ,

Isn’t it funny how all parents find themselves playing the spelling game with their children? What spelling game you ask? It’s the one where you spell the words so that your child/children don’t know what you’re talking about.

Today while driving home from the mall, I said to my mother, “Why didn’t I buy some n-o-o-d-l-e-s for Princess?” My mom says, “N-o-o-d-l-e-s? Oh, noodles!” Boy, did she spoil the game! Or when Mr. MaD came home today I said, “Princess ate almost a whole a-p-p-l-e at lunch today.”

Food is not the only thing I find myself spelling. I also do it when it involves toys or things that I don’t want her to want at that time. Often when she hears me talking about something, it catches her interest then she wants what I’m talking about. So to avoid any battles, I end up spelling things that I know she’ll want. Silly, huh?

 

Leave a Reply

