Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Circle Cutters November 10, 2007

Filed under: handmade cards,scrapbooking — middleagedmom @ 9:26 pm
Tags: , ,

Today I invested in circle cutters from Creative Memories. I can’t wait to try them out. When the consultant demonstrated it, the circles were pretty easy to cut. I tried it myself and thought it worked pretty well. I think the set I bought comes with 3 different cutters, a cutting mat, a plastic circle grid, and a template. The grid  is used when you have to cut photographs so that you can see which cutter to use

I’ll try them out and let you all know what I think of them.

My original circle cutter was the Coluzzle. I actually like this cutter except for the fact that the rotating blade on the cutter broke and I haven’t had a chance to replace it. My Coluzzle set came with templates for circles, rectangles, envelopes, and tags. It’s pretty easy to use. The problem that I’ve encountered is with those “tabs” that are left when you cut out your shape. You have to trim them off yourself. The thing that bothers me is that sometimes cutting off the tab is a little tricky since it makes your shape look crooked. Has anyone else encountered that problem?

I’ve thought about using punches but those have problems too. My large circle cutter is always getting stuck. It’s a pain. I tried to use wax paper to “grease” the punch but that wasn’t really effective. So as of now, my circle punch is useless since it’s jammed.

Now that I have a circle cutter, I can get back to scrapbooking and card making.

My dream tool of course is a die cutter type of machine. But those babies are expensive! I’m sure those things make great circles and you probably can make a lot more with less effort.  I’ll put that on my wish list for when I go back to work full-time.

Does anyone else have suggestions/recommendations for circle cutters that are easy to use and effective?

 

3 Responses to “Circle Cutters”

  1. Marybeth Says:

    Hi!
    I am a Creative Memories consultant. I obviously have all of the shape makers and cutting tools that CM has to offer and I love them all! I think that you will enjoy using the circle cutters. They are very easy to use and I have not encountered any problems with tabs being left behind after cutting. Let me know what you think.
    Marybeth

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hey Marybeth,
    Thanks for the encouragement! I can’t wait to try them out. By the way, the tabs that I referred to were from my Coluzzle cutter not the CM ones.
    I’ll try them soon and let you know what I think.

  3. Stopped by to say, Hi! Sounds like you ae ready to get scrappin again soon. I think you will be happy with your purchase and when you are ready for a machine I recommend the Cricut! I have one and I love it! Never a problem with my cuts and I can cut out a lot at one time. Sometimes I cut for several layouts and it really helps when you are making duplicate cards. Take Care and God Bless!


Leave a Reply

