Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Time Bound November 10, 2007

Filed under: baby,children,family,moms,pregnancy,scrapbooking,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 7:16 pm
Tags:

Isn’t it sad that our lives revolve so much around the clock? We are so bound by time constraints and schedules. I’m not saying that schedules are bad because I do enjoy structure for the most part.

The thing that is bothering me is my lack of time or maybe my poor use of time. Ever since taking this part-time job, I’ve been feeling so busy. I mean I’ve always felt busy being a mother of a toddler but now I feel like I hardly have any down time for myself. In the few spare moments that I do have, I’m reading and responding to personal emails or reading blogs or posting to my blog.  I really want to find more time for scrapbooking. I have been making cards though but it’s because I have upcoming events that require them. Not to mention I can’t see spending money on a card when I can make one.

Scrapbooking requires time. I don’t know about the rest of you but I take a long time to ponder a layout and what I’d like to include in the layout. I have to decide which photos to use and whether I should crop them or not. I have to decide the best colors to use or what embellishments enhance the “story” of the layout. Then I have to decide what my journaling will be like. Then I have to put it all together. I’m the type of scrapbooker that has to look at everything in my “stash” to see what would be best to use so I like to spread out. That takes space…which by the way ends up creating a “mess” of stuff on my table. Then that needs to get cleaned up and organized.

I guess I’d better learn to make better use of the time I have now. Especially since it’s getting so close to the holidays and close to baby’s birth. When baby makes 4, I’ll really be strapped for time! (I think moms with multiple children are amazing! I have to get some tips from them!)

P.S. I wanted to share a thought from a money expert on Surviving Motherhood ( a tv show on Discovery Health). She said “don’t allow money to define your choices, money should support your choices.” I thought that was quite profound.

 

Leave a Reply

