Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Thanksgiving Blur November 27, 2007

Whew! This Thanskgiving flew by…it is just a blur now. This year we went to our in-laws for Thanksgiving dinner. I made 3 semi-homemade desserts. The first was pumpkin muffins (recipe from Cooks.com) with store-bought cream cheese frosting. The second was apple crisp using canned apples (Comstock). The third was a chocolate bundt cake (cake mix) with homemade cocoa glaze.

Wondering why I would bake if I have gestational diabetes? Well, remember I do enjoy baking. Mr. MaD was my taste tester for the muffins and chocolate cake. Apple crisp is one of my go-to recipes so I didn’t need any taste testing for that.  My thanksgiving dinner was restricted. I limited my carbs (stuffing, mashed potatoes, yams, etc.) and I had no desserts including fruit. Yes, I was disappointed. I watched my portions and I didn’t have 2nds.  Believe me…I’m already looking forward to next Thanksgiving and the food that I will be able to eat. On a positive note, I didn’t feel that fullness that often comes with holiday meals.

Thanksgiving night was the first time Princess went to bed so late, approximately 10pm. By the time we got home and bathed, she was fussy. She didn’t want to dry her hair, she didn’t want to change her diaper, she didn’t want to do anything. The next morning she woke up around 8am and she was fussy throughout the day.

We did not go out since I was so tired and I know she was also. Instead, we sent Mr. MaD out to do some shopping. He went out early to get our new microwave on sale at Sears. He went to Old Navy and got some pjs for Princess and he attempted to visit the Disney store which ended up being so crowded that he left. Later that day he went to Comp USA to look for a deal on external hard drives. On the news we saw that Comp USA had a sale on Thanksgiving night that we didn’t know about so we thought they’d still have some good deals the next day. As it turns out the salesperson said that the better quality hard drive was not on sale but would be going on sale in the near future. Mr. MaD also made the trek to Wal-mart to pick up another Christmas present for Princess, a kitchen. It’s the new Play ‘n Learn Little Tikes Kitchen. Well, they were out of the one we wanted so he ended up getting her a Fisher Price Dora kitchen. To be honest it’s not the one I really wanted esp. since sometimes Dora’s voice irritates me. (Sorry, Dora fans) I asked Mr. MaD to turn off the talking feature on the kitchen.

As it turns out, Mr. MaD decided to put the kitchen together for Princess as her early Christmas present partly because the box was dirty and he didn’t want to store it that way. Princess loves her new kitchen. She plays with it every day. It’s the thing that she looks at as soon as she gets up in the morning. Her favorite thing is to bring the plastic pretend foods to us and ask us to eat them. So we politely eat them and say “yummy”.

On Saturday, we went to a 1st birthday party for a little boy who comes to our church. I think this was the most fun that Princess had at a birthday party. There was coloring on the fabric backpack (given as a favor), bubbles, air brush tatoos, remote control race cars, a bounce house, games, and a pony ride. The theme for the party was the movie Cars. Bubbles turned out to be one of her favorite activities along with the pony ride. Yes, she did ride the pony. It totally surprised Mr. MaD and I since she is often afraid of unfamiliar things. She couldn’t wait to get on it and she wanted to pet it and she even hugged his face. It was the cutest thing ever! She had so much fun at the party that she barely took a nap probably reliving the fun events of the day kept her too busy to sleep. (Here’s a picture of Princess with a disguise on to hide her face.)

pony ride

 

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Blur”

  1. Stopped by to say “Hi”. Our Thanksgiving went by quickly also. To top it all off I had camera problems. But I am going to do the best I can with what I have to work with. I’ll share soon. But I do need your help; I noticed that you have the word pumpkin muffins highlighted (again the snapshots problem) and when I drag my cursor over it – cooks.com pops up. How do you get those results? I recently gave Jess Gordan credit for a pumpkin template she created and I would like to be able to refer people to her site by just typing her name in my post. Thanks in advance for your help. (again-he-he)

    Ruth

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hey Ruth,

    I recently visited your blog but my dial-up connection takes so long that I can’t view many of your images…boo hoo hoo! And yes, I did say dial-up.
    I’ll keep trying to view them since I’m anxious to see what you’ve created.

    As for the word pumpkin muffins being highlighted…
    when you write your post there’s a little icon that looks like a chain link…that’s the link button.
    so if you highlight the word you want to create a link with then click on the “link” button you can
    type in the web address that you’d like to link to.
    You can also decide whether you want it to display on a new page. Try it and see how it works.

    Okay, have a great weekend. It’s always nice to hear from you! K 🙂

  3. Hi, Thanks for your help with the link. That makes perfect sense. I will try it soon. I enjoy hearing from you and I am glad you were able to view. I’ll get back with you soon to let you know how the link worked. You are so sweet for helping.

    Ruth


Leave a Reply

