Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Another Pregnancy Woe November 30, 2007

Filed under: baby,moms,pregnancy — middleagedmom @ 7:03 pm
Tags: , ,

You know that when you’re pregnant you tend to go to the bathroom a lot…since everything is pushing on your bladder. Recently I’ve been going to the bathroom at least 2-3 times in the middle of the night. Someone joked that it was your body’s way of getting ready for sleepless nights when the baby arrives.

Well, the other night as I got up to make my nightly bathroon run, I stood in the hallway with my 2 hands on the wall trying to steady myself. Yes, the room was spinning, a lot! I stood there for a few minutes then carefully made my way to the bathroom. When I got back to the bedroom, I woke Mr. MaD up to let him know that I was really dizzy.  I thought maybe it was my blood sugar. I wasn’t sure since I didn’t have my consultation and class for gestational diabetes yet. I decided to eat some multi-grain crackers, a very small banana and a few pieces of chicken.  Strangely, I wasn’t hungry so I actually forced myself to take a few bites of each. In fact, I was nauseous. After almost 1 hour of just lying around I finally got to sleep.

The next morning I woke up a little dizzy again. Nothing like the night before but still not regular. I decided that breakfast might help so I ate a piece of fruit with whole wheat toast and a slice of cheese. I also decided to take my blood pressure. It was something like 99/64.

After about an hour, I decided to call my doctor. According to him, it was probably a case of low blood pressure and/or dehydration. He told me to sit up on the bed before standing up and make sure I’m drinking enough water. He actually said it is very common during pregnancy. This seems strange to me since I had pregnancy induced hypertension the last time I was pregnant. He also mentioned that it can happen if it’s too hot.  He did warn me that if I’m driving I need to pull over and I should lie down until the dizziness subsides.

I must say it was a little scary being so dizzy. I hope it doesn’t happen again, esp. if I’m driving.

P.S. Today was my consultation for my gestational diabetes. Basically I got weighed ( I only gained 1 lb. in 2 weeks!). I had to give a urine sample and blood. I got my blood pressure checked, my pulse, and my temperature. Then a doctor gives a brief overview of gestational diabetes and takes a quick medical history. I think it’s mostly to see if anyone in your family had/has diabetes. If you have gestational diabetes, you have a 50% chance of developing diabetes in the next 5 years so they really want you to get tested for diabetes every year. I also have to take a glucose tolerance test 6 weeks after giving birth to see if the gestational diabetes was pregnancy induced or if I had diabetic tendencies prior to getting pregnant but didn’t know it.

The funny thing is that when I went to my regular OB visit today, he mentioned that it’s strange that I got gestational diabetes since my weight is so much better this time around. Remember I mentioned that I was 25lbs heavier the last time I was pregnant. Well, he said sometimes it’s just the placenta that causes it.  Strange…I guess every pregnancy is just so different.

Tomorrow is my 3 hour class for gestational diabetes. Supposedly they go over the meal plan and lifestyle changes like exercising for 30 mins. a day. Also, they go over pricking your finger to read your blood sugar levels. I’ll post more about it later.

 

6 Responses to “Another Pregnancy Woe”

  1. Hi there, glad I found your blog. Thank goodness there are others (40+ mommies & mommy hopefuls) out here in blogland. We am “trying” this time, (wasn’t trying last time) for another miracle (oldfashioned way) after a miscarriage last year.

    Looks like have some reading to do. I’d love to add you to my blogroll and learn more about your conception method, and prenatal experience. Sorry if that sounded forward. It wasn’t meant that way just excited to find your blog.

    I’ll visit again soon.

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hi,
    Nice to meet you. Sorry about your miscarriage. I’ve had 2 miscarriages and I can certainly understand how that feels. I believe in miracles…my pregancies are proof of that. So keep believing…God is a God of miracles!

    Take care!

  3. Thanks for the welcome. I too believe in miracles. My last preg and even the miscarriage was quite spiritual for me. Hard to explain, but you can read more about how I (we) felt (feel) on my blog in PAGES when you get a moment. As if you have a extra moment. Babies make for BUSY! 😀

  4. middleagedmom Says:

    i’ll surely make it back to your blog soon and read more about your experiences. i’m sure it will be similar to mine. take care!

  5. Hoping you avoid bp issues this time around!

    Best wishes!

  6. middleagedmom Says:

    Thanks for the best wishes, Denise! I’m hoping to avoid any bp issues this time around too! I try to monitor it every so often at home just to be sure I’m doing okay.
    Overall, my blood pressure has been on the low side but sometimes my puls is so high. Strange…I just try to sit down or lie down and take deep breaths.


Leave a Reply

