Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Terrible Twos – Late Start? May 4, 2008

Filed under: 1-2-3 Magic,baby,children,discipline,family,moms,time out,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 5:28 pm

When Princess was younger, around 1 year of age, I remember our pediatrician asking us about tantrums.  At the time her behavior was pretty good, so I told the doctor that she does get upset but usually doesn’t stay upset for very long. She didn’t really do some of those tantrum-like behaviors that I know other kids have – kicking or stomping their feet, banging their heads, pounding their hands, etc.  Our pediatrician told us that it’s okay for her to get upset and cry and fuss but if it doesn’t last too long and if she doesn’t get really worked up then she probably isn’t having a tantrum. He also mentioned that since she wasn’t doing it at age 1 then she probably wouldn’t do it later.

Yeah, right!

Recently, Princess has been showing us the dreaded tantrum behavior. When she gets upset, especially if she doesn’t have her way, she lies on the ground and starts kicking her legs. Sometimes, she’ll kick her toy. Usually if I scold her about the kicking she stops. I’m not sure what’s going on but I don’t like it. The interesting thing is that is just started appearing within the last month or so…she’s already 2.5 years old.  I told Mr. MaD that I must be spoiling her since she knows that the tantrum behavior will probably get her what she wants, that’s why she continues to do it. (Yeah, I know, I need Supernanny!) I mentioned to Mr. MaD that sometimes when I’m home alone with the 2 girls (which is everyday) I can’t fight every battle with Princess, esp. if Baby is crying and fussing too. I also realized that we need a new time-out spot since we will soon give the crib to Baby. I’ve used the crib as her time-out spot in the past and that worked well because I didn’t have to force her to stay in one place. She doesn’t try to climb out of her crib.

It just so happened that I recently read a comment left by Deg on my post “To Discipline or not to discipline” and that reminded me about the book 1-2-3 Magic that I need to reread again. I know that I spoil Princess, I am the first to admit it. Yes, sometimes it is easier to just give in esp. when I’m feeling stressed. Sometimes I just feel sorry for her since Baby arrived too. Yep, I’m a softy when it comes to Princess. How ironic is that? I used to be such a critic of spoiled children…and look at me now! I apologize to all those parents who I ever passed judgement on.

So, I’m back to the drawing board when it comes to discipline. I’ll keep you all posted on my progress.  Obviously, the parent needs more training then the child!

 

Leave a Reply

