Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Daily Gratitude May 20, 2008

Filed under: baby,children,Christianity,dad,family,moms,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 2:39 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve been working hard to remember how blessed I am. Yes, I do grumble. Unfortunately, probably more than I should. At church on Sunday, our pastor was speaking about not being envious because it really opens the door to the enemy. I don’t want to say that I’m envious but maybe I am. Sometimes I do think about how my life could be “easier like so and so’s life” or how I wish “baby would be a better sleeper like so and so.”  I guess that does sound envious.

I recently heard a story on the news about a family who lost their 3 year old son in a car accident. The drunk driver ran head on into their car and the little boy’s car seat flew out of the car. The parents were injured but alive and their 1 year old daughter only received a few minor scratches. Sadly, they went home  with one less child. I pray that God would give them peace and help them heal during this tragic time.

I really have a great life when I think about that family. I should have NOTHING to grumble about!

So, I am asking for God’s forgiveness today as I do everyday.

Instead, I will keep my thoughts on all the blessings I have in my life. Rather I shall meditate on this verse, Philippians 4:8 “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

I believe God wants the best for our lives and he wants me to be faithful in all things. Trusting God in all our circumstances is the most difficult part of having a relationship with God but I am so blessed to have a merciful Father who is full of grace and love when it comes to my limitations.

So, today I proclaim that I am truly blessed with a terrific husband and 2 beautiful daughters. I am blessed that I am alive and able to take care of my children as a stay at home mom. I am blessed that I have a home to live in and  a car to drive. I am blessed for all the supportive loving people in my life. I really do have a lot to be thankful about.

I hope you take the time to remember how blessed you are today and everyday. God bless you!

 

3 Responses to “Daily Gratitude”

  1. Ruth Says:

    You are so right…thanks for the reminder. We must meditate on the truth of God’s character and his grace in our lives so as to not be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. Praise the Lord for being patient with us!

  2. Shadow's mom Says:

    Yes, I am, too, grateful for what God has given/blessed me with . . . a wonderful husband, 2 precious children, an opportunity to stay home with my kids, a roof over my head, food on the table, and more. Thanks for the reminder because I do get caught up in the day to day routines of “life”. May the Lord give you the strength, the courage, the energy, the grace, the patience, the support, and the love you need to get through each day!

  3. middleagedmom Says:

    Hey Shadow’s mom,

    I’m surprised you found time to visit my blog! Yep, getting
    caught up in the “daily grind” keeps us distracted from
    God’s best for our lives. I agree, you are truly blessed also!


Leave a Reply

