Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Being Middle-aged July 7, 2008

Filed under: baby,children,dad,family,moms,pregnancy — middleagedmom @ 11:30 pm
Tags: ,

Being middle-aged seems to be synonymous with health concerns…

Recently, Mr. MaD has been complaining about some stomach problems. So off to the doctor he went. At first I thought it might be celiac disease so I told him he should try to eat gluten-free products. So he tried it. As it turns out, his doctor checked for celiac disease and said that it wasn’t his problem. So then we thought it might be acid reflux so he was given some medication. That didn’t seem  to help yet. Mr. MaD had to take a bunch of tests…most of which I can’t remember the names of. I know one of those test involved drinking that “barium” solution. (Forgive me if I spelled it wrong.) As of now, we are still not sure what is going on. So, we are playing the waiting game. He is watching what kinds of foods he is eating and he is trying not too eat after 7pm.

As for my health, I recently visited my physician for a stomach bug and she thought that I had an enlarged thyroid. I had to get a blood test done and an ultrasound. Thank God all was well with my thyroid. The blood test also revealed that my glucose levels were under control. It was actually lower than my last blood test which was before I got pregnant the 2nd time. My OB thinks that if I control my weight I will probably not have to worry about diabetes. On the other hand, I had some high numbers for other things so I have to take another blood test in a couple of weeks. At least I don’t have to fast for this one.

Last week I visited my optometrist. I mentioned that I felt like my vision hadgotten worse since I gave birth. He said it is probably related to age more than my pregnancy. Yes, he’s mentioned it to be before that after 40 years old, your vision gets worse. Since, I already wear glasses for seeing distances I didn’t think my vision would still change. But now it seems that I’m having trouble seeing close-up! Yikes! Sometimes I find myself squinting when I’m clipping my children’s nails or when I’m trimming my cuticles. Then it hit! The dreaded word…bifocals! Boy, did I feel old! What comes to mind when I hear the word bifocals? Well, my grandmother of course. How could I need bifocals! I was in denial! After showing me his own bifocals ( the ones that don’t have the line across the glass), I gave in to getting a pair of reading glasses rather than bifocals. I think I’ll hold off on bifocals for a year or so more especially since I don’t wear my glasses all the time. So now I’ll need to carry 2 pairs of glasses around and put on the appropriate pair as needed. Then when I finally succumb to bifocals, I’ll just use my new frames and update the lens to bifocals.

Let’s face it…no matter how you look at it, being middle-aged, is always in your face!

P.S. I can’t wait until I’m done nursing baby so that I can finally color my hair…yes, I do have white hair!

 

Leave a Reply

