Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Are those “Crocodile Tears”? July 9, 2008

Filed under: baby,children,discipline,family,moms,time out,toddlers,Uncategorized — middleagedmom @ 10:07 pm

First comes the whimper, then the fuss, then the moans, then the screams, then the tears. By then, it is full on crying mode and I don’t mean the whimper cry. My children’s cries make me cringe. So much so that I can feel the back of my neck tensing up.

Okay, I’m not saying that I don’t like to ever see my children cry. I actually can ignore it especially when I’m putting Princess on time-out and she is screaming her head off.

So when does it bother me?

  • at the doctor’s office when my girls are getting their shots-poor things
  • the first time I left Princess at Sunday School by herself (by the way, they asked me to pick her up because she was crying so much)
  • when Baby is crying and I can’t soothe her
  • when I’m in public and everyone is staring at me with the look
  • when Mr. MaD took Princess to preschool for an “orientation day” and had her stay by herself to take a nap (I’ll tell you more about preschool later)
  • when Baby starts crying because Princess is crying-they are so in sync when it comes to crying
  • anytime the girls are sick, in pain, sad, or scared

Just last week we were at Sam’s Club doing some shopping. It was crowded because it was just before the 4th of July. Princess happened to take a late short afternoon nap that day but we headed out right before our usual dinner time. We got to Sam’s and I had to process some pictures so Mr. MaD took Princess and Baby around the store. Well, Princess was not happy about leaving me so she started to fuss.  It’s a good thing the picture processing didn’t take too long. So we headed off down the aisles and did some shopping for a few things. Soon Princess was asking for milk. Well, unfortunately, this time I left her milk in the car. I usually carry a drink and snack with me into the store just in case. Of course, the 1 time I leave it in the car she starts to fuss. I was able to appease her for a little while then when we finally got in line to pay…she let it loose.  The cashier lines were so long! The wailing began and I kept telling Princess to stop crying because we were almost done and she could have some milk in the car. Nope! No deal! I just had to ignore it, even if no one else could. Yep, all eyes were on us! I’m sure everyone was thinking that I had either just scolded my child or that my child was so spoiled. It’s a good thing that Baby was sleeping in her infant seat and did not wake up or else I’d have 2 crying children on my hands. I couldn’t wait to get out of there. That even took a long time because the line out the door was so long too! Ugh! By the time we got out of the store and was driving home, it was something like 2 hours past their usual dinner time. So, I guess I can’t totally blame her for fussing!

 

Leave a Reply

