Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Yummy and Refreshing Salad! August 22, 2008

Filed under: family,food — middleagedmom @ 10:20 pm
Tags: , ,

Yummy! Yes, that’s how I’d describe the Cornbread Panzanella Salad. It’s a recipe from Giada DeLaurentis. I’m pretty sure you can still get the recipe from the show Everyday Italian.

This recipe is so easy to make with a handful of ingredients. I would consider this pretty healthy since the dressing only calls for lemon juice and olive oil. I used a bakery cornbread since I didn’t really want to bake them myself. The only thing is that it doesn’t make too much salad. If you want to make it for guests you’d probably need to double the recipe. Also, it does get a little soggy so it’s best eaten fresh. I think it really makes a difference if you use a better quality fontina cheese also. This time I chose a less expensive fontina cheese and it wasn’t as good as the orignial brand that I usually use.

Beware…this is not an inexpensive salad to make. I paid approximately $20 for most (not all) of the ingredients. But, it was well worth it! It is so yummy and refreshing, especially for the summer months! Mr. MaD commented that this salad was so good because of the dressing. I said that the dressing was only olive oil and lemon juice. I think it’s the combination of ingredients that make this salad! Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Yummy and Refreshing Salad!”

  1. Looks Yummy! Just wanted to stop by and say “hi” and I hope that all is well with you and yours. God Bless.

    RP

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hey RP,

    Nice to hear from you! I’m fine just busy. I haven’t posted
    recently. Are you still blogging?

    Hope you and your family are doing well!
    God bless and take care!


Leave a Reply

