Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Photo Frenzy March 23, 2009

Filed under: children,family,moms — middleagedmom @ 4:47 pm
Tags:

Please, I beg you, learn from me!

I also tell people that I have “mommy brain” because that’s what I feel like. I don’t mean that as a put-down to us moms. I just mean that my life is so busy and my mind is on so many things that I don’t always have the clarity of mind to make the best decisions or ponder deep thought-provoking questions.

But…today I take the cake!

I know now that my “mommy brain” is in full swing.  I happened to be working on a photo collage for my daughter in Photoshop. So, I started looking at all my digital photos so I could choose appropriate photos for the layout. I happened upon a photo of Princess’s first gingerbread house and thought to myself, “I should add some pictures of Princess making her gingerbread house.”  I searched my external hard drive, my CDs, my flash drives, and my camera’s memory sticks.

gingerbreadhouse

To my utter dismay, there were NO pictures of the great event! They are completely gone! I wanted to scream but Baby was taking a nap so I just started seething with anger crying to myself. I couldn’t  believe it! Just a few days ago, I was downloading photos to CDs and my external hard drive.  Thinking that all my photos were downloaded, I began to delete pictures from my camera’s memory stick. 

Yes, I believed whole heartedly that I had saved all the photos on that memory stick that I didn’t bother to double check myself.  Well, now I know better.

Even if you download your photos ( to CDs, flash drives, and hard drives), check and double check yourself to make sure that those photos are where they are supposed to be. Also, have a back up of them in different places. Don’t just save to your computer! Should your computer crash, you will lose it all.

I am so sad…I have forever lost those precious photos from Princess’s first gingerbread house experience.  Boo, hoo, hoo!

 

Leave a Reply

