Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Baby Boils-Yucky! April 17, 2009

Filed under: baby,children,family,moms,toddlers,Uncategorized — middleagedmom @ 4:52 pm
Tags:

Boo, hoo, hoo my poor Baby! Just this week I noticed what appeared to be a pimple on Baby\’s palm. It was red and seemed to have a head that was full of pus. Yucky Yuck! Well, the next morning  I noticed there was another pimple on her hand. This time it was bigger!

At first, I just thought it was a pimple. I went back and forth trying to decide if I should pop it or not? Should I cover it with a bandage? Should I put Neosporin on it?

I finally decided to just play the wait and see game. In the meantime, I looked in my baby books (Toddler 411 and Caring for Your Baby and Young Child: Birth to Age 5) to try and figure out what it could be. My first thought was that it was hand, foot, and mouth disease. Strangely, she did not have any other marks anywhere else. Also, she didn\’t have a fever.

The next day I decided to call the doctor. As it turns out, it wasn\’t a pimple after all. It was probably a boil. A boil? Who gets boils? I didn\’t know of anyone who ever had a boil! I was instructed to apply a warm compress to see if it would drain. If it drained, Baby\’s body could probably take care of the infection by herself.  Have you ever tried to apply a warm compress to a toddler? Not easy. She wouldn\’t have it. Squirming. Crying. Fussing. I ended up applying the compress five times before she went to bed at night.

As soon as I put Baby down  for the night, I hit the computer to research all I could about boils. If you look it up online, you\’ll see that most cases of boils are related to MRSA (methicillin resistant staphylococcus aureua). That is some scary stuff! Check out MRSA Watch to get some information. I have to admit that looking at all this stuff made me a little paranoid.

The next morning, I checked her hand and it looked exactly the same. I couldn\’t get those boils to drain so I decided to take her to the doctor to get it checked. The doctor also thought it could be hand, foot, and mouth disease since it\’s difficult to really differentiate between a viral and bacterial type of blister/lesion. He also examined her other hand, her mouth, and feet.  No other marks anywhere. The doctor recommended that we should treat it as bacterial for now just in case. Baby was prescribed a topical oinment which is applied twice a day for 5 days. I was instructed to watch and see if any more sores appear, esp. on her hands, feet, or mouth. If she did get more sores, then she possibly did have a viral infection.

So of course, my next question was, \”Is Baby contagious?\” Yes! The thought of Baby being contagious was scary since I didn\’t want Princess to get infected. The doctor told me that after 24 hours on the ointment and Baby won\’t be infectious. If Princess developed any sores, I could apply the same ointment on her.

I\’m glad that I took Baby in to get looked at. I feel relieved that she is on some kind of medication for this bacterial infection. I wouldn\’t be able to stand it if I had waited and it got worse.  The worse part of all of this is knowing that she even got this infection. Let\’ face it. No matter how much you try to protect your child, germs are everywhere. Washing your hands helps a lot but it doesn\’t protect you or your child fully. Besides washing hands often, use alcohol based hand sanitizers. Baby didn\’t have any cuts on her hands prior to this infection. Apparently, you can get infected without cuts because you can breathe in these germs, esp. through your nasal passages.

Last words on this…wash your hands often! Be observant! Treat it early!

 

Leave a Reply

