Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

I’m an animal lover but… May 4, 2009

Filed under: children,family,friends,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 3:46 pm
Tags: ,

I am an animal lover. I grew up with animals. My first pet was a dog. She was a Miniature Pinscher. We later ended up with 3 dogs and 2 cats. 3 of the 5 animals were strays.

So you see, I am an animal lover but at this moment in time I do not own any animals. For one thing, I noticed that as an adult my allergies have gotten a lot worse. So now when I go to someone’s house who owns cats, I start sneezing really badly and my throat and eyes get scratchy. Another reason is that as a parent of 2 children I do not forsee owning any pets in the near future just because I wouldn’t be able to take care of them properly. I can barely keep up with a husband and 2 children.

So why am I telling you this? Today my friend visited my home with her 2 children and their pet rabbit. They were actually coming by to pick something up so I didn’t really expect them to come inside. Well, they did and they brought their pet rabbit. Did you know that rabbits shed a lot of hair? Yikes, for my allergies! I didn’t have the heart (or guts) to tell them that they couldn’t bring the rabbit into the house. At first, I thought they were coming in for just a few minutes but it ended up being almost 1/2 hour.  The rabbit ended up crawling around on my kitchen floor. The same floor that I just cleaned on my hands and knees the night before.

After they left, I swiffered the floor to pick up the fur. Then I wiped down my floor with disinfectant wipes. Am I paranoid? I don’t think so since I have a toddler who walks around in the kitchen and sometimes falls down. She also puts object and her fingers in her mouth so I like to try to keep the floor clean. 

The next place that I need to clean…right outside the front door. There’s a bunch of fur out there and some poop too! When the wind blows the fur is stirring around so I don’t want it to fly in the house. Then there’s the poop!

Okay so here’s what I’m thinking. If you’re a pet owner (like I used to be), do you consider other people’s feelings, esp. those that don’t own pets? I truly believe that if I owned a pet right now I would NOT take my pet into someone else’s house without asking permission first. I just think that’s common courtesy.

So the next time you decide to stop by and visit me, leave your pet home or at least “park” your pet outside of my house. Just make sure you pick up the poop on the way out!

 

Leave a Reply

