Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Iced Mocha May 7, 2009

Filed under: food,moms — middleagedmom @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , ,

mccafemochaI just tried the iced mocha from McDonald’s. They’ve been advertising their McCafe on TV and they’ve featured the iced mocha. Although the McDonald’s near my home doesn’t have McCafe they are serving the iced mocha. I suppose it’s to advertise the drink so that you visit a McCafe.

Maybe I’m biased since I’m so used to drinking iced mochas from Starbucks. My expectations were too high. I should have known better since I don’t really care for their iced coffee.

My first sip was right after receiving it. My first thought was that it tasted a little watery. So I mixed it up really well. They whipped cream was so soft and deflated that it mixed in rather quickly. (You can see the deflated whipped cream in the photo.) My second sip was a little better. I got a little more of the mocha taste but still it was on the weak side. The drink seems watery and thin and the taste is lacking something.

When ordering they ask if you’d like nonfat milk or whole. I opted for whole. I think there are 2 sizes but I’m not sure since they didn’t ask me what size I wanted. I think I got the larger size since it cost me $3.60. It’s about the same price as my Starbucks iced mocha so I’m not really getting value especially if I don’t like the taste.

Would I drink it again? Maybe if I can’t get an iced mocha anywhere else and I feel like I really need one. Otherwise, I’ll stick to Starbucks.

 

4 Responses to “Iced Mocha”

  1. I agree with you. McD’s is OK, if there’s nothing else around. At least the option is there. I still prefer Starbuck’s or Dunkin Donuts for my iced Mocha’s and Frappuccinos!

    • middleagedmom Says:

      Hi Cindi,

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! I guess I’m not the only one who is particular about their iced mocha.
      I’ll be visiting your blog. I’ll leave a comment too!

  2. JoAnn Says:

    Hi-

    I found your blog when I was googling info on toddler boils-my darling 17 month old has one!?
    I’m 38-had my daughter at 36. I love Iced coffees and make mine at home, but like your blog, the McD’s will do ONLY when nothing else is available.
    Just wanted to say I like your blog and subscribed to it:)

    • middleagedmom Says:

      Hey JoAnn,

      Nice to hear from you. Thanks for commenting. Do you have a blog?

      How is your 17 month old daughter doing? Is the boil getting better? Did she have to go on antibiotics like my daughter?

      So do you consider yourself a middleaged mom too?

      Yum…homemade iced coffee! You must be a great coffee maker. Those are hard to find. I’m not so good at making coffee. I only use instant! Sharing recipes for homemade iced coffee? I wouldn’t mind trying.


Leave a Reply

