Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Prayers to Save a Marriage May 26, 2009

Filed under: children,dad,family,infertility,moms — middleagedmom @ 3:15 pm
Tags: , ,

I couldn’t resist posting about Jon & Kate Gosselin. No, it’s not to gossip about them. It’s to remind us that we need to pray for each other and for marriages and families.

After watching the season premiere last night, I was deeply saddened by the whole thing. Their family story struck a chord with me from the beginning because of their issues with infertility. As a mother, I was also amazed at how a family with 8 children could survive and thrive in everyday life. It was a pleasant surprise to know that they also thanked God for the blessings of 8 children.

Mr. MaD was quick to remind me last night that I should not judge them. I agree. I do not know the truth of their situation, only God knows that. Instead, I should show love and compassion towards them and their family. I should pray for God’s protection, peace, and mercy for their marriage and family. I should pray that they seek Godly cousel for their marriage and family. I should pray that they remember their marriage is a covenant made between them and God. Divorce is not an option.

Most importantly, I should treat them the way Christ would treat them.

Today take the time to pray for their marriage. Take the time to pray for your marriage and every other marriage out there. God is listening.

 

Leave a Reply

