Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Took the Facebook Plunge! July 13, 2009

Filed under: blogging,family,friends,middleaged,social media,women — middleagedmom @ 4:53 pm
Tags:

I finally did it! I joined Facebook.

I was holding out for a long time because I didn’t want to add another thing to my already overloaded plate. Not to mention that all this social media stuff can get a little addicting.  I mean blogging takes up a lot of time in itself.

So why did I do it? Well, an old friend sent me an invitation. Simple as that. I figured I would just join to talk to him and possibly some other people who I haven’t kept in touch with in ages.

After joining, I added him as a friend. Then I did a search to find some other friends. Interestingly enough, I didn’t find as many people as I thought I would or maybe they are using different names, esp. women. I actually tried to look for a few friends from middle school but I couldn’t find them on Facebook. Facebook also has this feature where you can add an alternate name. I think it’s especially good for married women so that you can add your maiden name. That way old friends can find you.

As of today, I have 3 Facebook friends. One of them is my cousin. Isn’t that too funny! I promise I have more friends IRL.

 

2 Responses to “Took the Facebook Plunge!”

  1. I love Facebook! So many classmates and relatives that I haven’t seen in eons have found me there. Great way to stay connected.

    • middleagedmom Says:

      It’s so new to me still. I keep struggling with the issue of how much is too much sharing.


Leave a Reply

