Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Mini Toddler Bento August 19, 2009

Filed under: bento box,bento lunches,children,family,food,toddlers — middleagedmom @ 3:35 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today I used my mini musubi (rice ball) maker from Daiso. It’s the cutest thing. I wish I had some pre-cut nori (seaweed) strips to put on my musubi. I decided to add some furikake to the rice to season it. I used brown rice instead of white.

 

mini musubi1

 

mini musubi2

 

Here’s the mini toddler bento that I made for Baby’s lunch today. We had a playdate and I wanted her to eat before we left just in case she fell asleep on the way home.

 

mini toddler bento

 

Besides the mini musubi, I have some lemon herb chicken (from Whole Foods Meat Counter) blueberries and grapes. My bento is kind of lacking in color. I wish I had some lettuce. I think it also needs some orange. I forgot that I had a mango in my refrigerator. I know it’s blurry but the little picks are animal shapes. The yellow one is a snake and the blue one is a seahorse.

I used the safe handling tips from Lunch in a Box. I cooked the rice in the morning so I made the musubi when it was warm then let them come to room temperature before packing. The chicken was leftover from last night so I reheated it then let it come back to room temperature before packing in the foil food cup.

Baby ate most of the lunch but she didn’t want the grapes or blueberries so I ate that. Yes, she is a little on the picky side.

 

4 Responses to “Mini Toddler Bento”

  1. Shadow's Mom Says:

    Lacking in color? I think not! I’d love to have that for lunch . . . yummy! Pass some my way please! ;o)

  2. That’s awesome! I want one of those rice ball makers! looks like a yummy lunch!

  3. middleagedmom Says:

    Shadow’s mom,

    Thanks for your encouraging words! I need to take some bento making lessons. My sister-in-law used to live in Japan and her mother made me a bento once. It was so nice and colorful. Everything is the right sized portion with different components that are pleasing to the eye.

  4. middleagedmom Says:

    Thanks Sarah for visiting my blog and commenting! I appreciate it. I think those mini musubi makers are so cute. Just the right size for little hands. I’ve seen those mini musubi makers online or maybe an Asian store in your area carries them.

    BTW, I enjoy reading your blog. Do you have to join to watch you on MOM tv?


Leave a Reply

