Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

Do Words Have Power? August 25, 2009

Filed under: dad,family,moms,random thoughts,Uncategorized — middleagedmom @ 2:01 pm
Tags: , ,

Do words have power?

You would think so. Maybe it’s just the spoken word? Apparently, the written word carries no weight. At least at my home it doesn’t.

Our home is enclosed by a fence and a 2 gates. On our main front gate we have a sign that says “No Soliciting”.  We have a smaller gate on the side of our driveway that also leads to the front door. Strangely enough, that “No Soliciting” sign might as well be written in Ancient Egyptian since people tend to ignore it.  Today, soon after I put Baby down for her nap, I hear banging on my front door. I mean banging  not a quiet gentle knock.  I happened to be on the computer in the bedroom so I peeked out the window and noticed an unfamiliar truck in the driveway. Then I hear 3 more bangs on the door so I rush to the front door hoping that Baby doesn’t wake up from the noise.

I open the window slightly and say, “Yes?”

The stranger (man) says, “I’m looking for work. Do you need someone to cut down your trees?”

I say, “No, I’m sorry but we don’t have money for that.” 

He says, “Okay.” and walks out of the gate.

First of all, I just can’t believe the number of people who enter our gate to “sell” something even if we have a sign basically saying that we’re not interested. This isn’t the first time that someone has approached our home for some yard work. I mean I understand that we are in hard economic times but I don’t appreciate the “cold calls” to my front door! Not only have we been approached for yard work, we also get religious groups like Jehovah’s Witnesses and others doing fund-raising.

Secondly, it’s a little scary being a SAHM with your child and have strangers come knocking on your door. These days you can’t trust anyone. I never open my front door to strangers. I always try to talk from the window slightly open.  I really wish I had one of those cameras by the front door with an intercom system.

Having a gate somehow gives you a false sense of security, especially since our gates don’t lock. That may be something we have to look into. I am a little hesitant about that just in case of emergency situations.

I think that thing that bothers me the most is the lack of respect by people. I would never approach a home with a “No Soliciting” sign and try to sell something. I’ve seen people come through our side gate (which is not as accessible) as the front gate…as if trying to avoid the “No Soliciting” sign on the front gate. You know the old adage, “Out of sight, out of mind.”

I’m thinking that I need to tell Mr. MaD to get a bigger “No Soliciting” sign for our gate. I think I’ll also have to put one right by the front door just in case they don’t see the one on the gate.

Has anything like this ever happened to you? What do you do in situations like this?

 

2 Responses to “Do Words Have Power?”

  1. Shadow's Mom Says:

    Sorry to hear about your ordeal . . . I, myself, don’t like solicitors. There’s no sign up at my house, but I just refuse to answer the door or talk through a window. Maybe you’ll be able to post a large banner on your fence/gate like the ones people use during election time & hopefully build a 25 feet barrier around your house . . . kind of like a fortress! He, he, I’m just playing to just make light of the situation. Nonetheless, those soliciting should show courtesy when approaching someone’s house.

  2. middleagedmom Says:

    Hey a fortress/compound is not a bad idea! Kidding!

    I agree that common courtesy would be greatly appreciated!


Leave a Reply

