Confessions of a Middleagedmom

surviving motherhood in the “middle ages”

My Car March 2, 2010

Filed under: random thoughts — middleagedmom @ 4:41 pm
Tags: , ,

I really like my car.

I have a van.

Sadly, my car is out of commission. It’s in the service department getting reparied. A  couple of months ago, during a service appointment, we found out that there was a leak from somewhere. Since the van is still under warranty, we definitely wanted it fixed. We took it in for a repair appointment about a month ago. Unfortunately, they were unable to find the leak so we were asked to make another appointment because they needed to remove the whole trasmission to find the leak.

Translation – It will take more than 1 day to repair your van.

Today I receive a phone call from the service department informing me that the car will be in repair for at least 1 more day. What’s taking so long? Well, they did find the leak.

Now, it’s just the warranty that’s the problem. Well, it’s the warranty department that is. We have to wait and see if the warranty department will cover a new transmission or if we are only allowed to get a refurbished/rebuilt transmission.

Okay, am I the only one wondering what the problem is with that?

We purchased the van a mere 6 months ago. Now, there’s a leak that requires us to get another transmission. The problem was NOT caused by us.

Hmmm….shouldn’t we be able to get a NEW transmission?

Frankly, I can’t even believe there’s a questions as to whether the warranty covers a new transmission. I mean really, why do they even offer warranties? It’s almost a joke!

Wondering what company I’m talking about?  Take a guess.

P.S. I’ll let you know after we find out if we qualify for a new transmission or not. I may have more to say.

 

Leave a comment